Wednesday, January 26, 2011

Remember When week of 24January2011

5 years ago
from the Tribune-News
Wednesday, January 25, 2006
Ed and Larry Arnold, co-owners of Arnold Bros. Oil and Parts, were honored this week at the annual recognition banquet of the South Whitley Chambr of Commerce and won the Service to the Community Award.  Arnold Bros has been a part of the business community for the past 79 years.
The Indiana Dept of Local Government Finance approved the Whitko High School renovation project recently and notified the Whitko School Corporation that they may proceed with the necessary financial processes to fund the project.
South Whitley Chamber of Commerce President Susan Hicks presented a Certificate of Appreciation to South Whitley Lions Club President Dave Lorie for the organization’s 75 years of service in the community.
Last Saturday, the Whitko Wildcats won the Three Rivers Conference Wrestling Tournament for the fourth year in a row.

10 years ago
from the Tribune-News
Wednesday, January 31, 2001
The new Dollar General store on Perceton’s southside held an official ribbon-cutting last week.  The manager of the new store is Peggy Soos and she will have a staff of six employees. 
Jackson’s Creations, a floral and gift shop, held a ribbon-cutting ceremony Monday morning after moving to their new location in the former South Whitley telephone building on State Street.  Attending the ribbon-cutting were Jeff Jackson, Scott Mayes and Pam Kessie, all from Jackson’s Creations; Dave Hartman, South Whitley Chamber of Commerce vice president; and Judy Earnhart, South Whitley Town Council President
Mason Price was the winner of the spelling bee at Pierceton Elemetary School and Kaitlin Cunningham was the runner up.  Both students are in the fifth grade.  Amber Sturgis, also a fifth grader, won the geography bowl at Pierceton Elemtary.
Whitko swept the 4-H and FFA State Championships.   The members of the 4-H Meats Judging Team were Matt Metzger, Phil Camden, Wendy Delacruz and Jeremiah Geiger. The FFA Meats Juding Team was Leslie Weisenberger, Taylor Krider and Trent Wilkinson. They are coached by Roger K Carr.
Scott M. Daeger is the ICE Student of the Week.  He is employed at Biomet in Warsaw and hopes to continue working for them after graduation.  Scott is the son of Steve and Jo Daeger.
25 years ago
from the South Whitley-Pierceton Tribune-News
Wednesday, January 29, 1986
Harold King resigned as clerk-treasurer of South Whitley.  This resignation is just weeks after a public announcement that almost $11,000 was missing from the clerk-treasurer’s office.
Last week in the former brick telephone building on State Street in South Whitley, became the home of Hobo’s Pizza.  The owners of he new business are Jim Clabaugh and Tom Winship, both of Topeka, Ind.  They also own a pizza shop in Topeka and are expanding their business.
Tami Hoaks and John Stephens will open a new South Whitley business called T.J. General Store next Saturday.  Their location at 204 N State Street is the former location of Dr B’s office.
A new auto parts busines is now open in Pierceton.  Pierceton-Auto Parts – Car Quest is at the corner of US 30 and SR 13.  Dave Limecooly is the manager of the new store.
The Piercton Cub Scouts held their annual Pinewood Derby on January 25.  Zeb Wise finished in first place, Chad Miner was 2nd and Brian Hartman was 3rd.  The winners for their car’s overall appearance were Nathan Christopffel, first place; Brian Hartman, 2nd place ; and Jimmy Foulks, 3rd place.
Charles Snyder has been apponted as principal of the Pierceton Elementary School.  He was the assistant principal and has worked for the school system for 17 years.
Marcia Ogden was recently named principal at South Whitley Elemtary School.  She had been the assistant principal at the school.

40 years ago
from the Tribune-News
Thursday, January 28, 1971
There were 62 students enrolled in the senior class at South Whitley High School. Class officers include Jerry Metzger, president; David Reeg, vice-president; Peggy Fisher, treasurer; and Jeanie Wall, secretary.
Pvt. Stanley L Studebaker, son of Mr. and Mrs. Paul Studebaker of South Whitley, is assigned to Company B, 17 Battalion, 5th Brigade, at Fort Knox, Ky.  Studebaker will receive additional advanced training following his basic training.
John Lancaster, son of Mr. and Mrs. Eugene Lancaster of South Whitley, has fulfilled requirements for a bachelor’s degree at the Univrsity of Montana and will graduate in June.  He has accepted a position as a flying instructor at Sky-Flight in Missoula.  John is a 1964 graduate of South Whitley High School.
Adolph Auer of Cleveland Township has been named by the County Council to the Whitley County Alcoholic Beverage board as a successor to Phil Glassley of South Whitley.  Other members of the board are Grant Weick, Columbia City; and Clarence Raypole, Charubusco.
Janet Rhoades, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Harold Rhoades of South Whitley, has been named South Whitley High School’s 1971 Betty Crocker Homemaker of Tomorrow.  She was selected for her knowledge and attitude examination which was administered on December 1, 1970.
Joe Chalk and Kathy Pence received all A’s in the Sidney seventh grade semester honor roll.
Kathy Boggs, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Harlan Boggs of South Whitley, was chosen Sunshine Society Girl for the month of January at the local high school.

50 years ago
from the Tribune-News
Thursday, February 2, 1961
Daniel Harshman of South Whitley was among the 13  seniors completing degree study at Purdue University this semester and he was commissioned as a 2nd Lt. in the U.S. Air Force Reserve.
Sixty-six local fifth graders were guests of the Whitley County Shrine Club at the annual Mizpah Shrine Circus being held at the Memorial Coliseum in Fort Wayne.  Shriners accompanying the students were Mr. and Mrs. Richard Knarr, Mr. and Mrs. Paul Patterson, Carroll Young, Don Reed, Don Brown, Larry Bolinger, Elmer Blocher, Carl Freund, the Rev. John Bowers and James Matson.
Barbara McCammon, a local sixth grade student will serve as page for the 93rd general assembly in the Indiana House of Representatives on February 6.  Miss McCammon is the daughter of Mr and Mrs Byron McCammon Jr. of South Whitley and granddaughter of the former Allen-Whitley County Representative Byron McCammon Sr.
Fourteen members of the local Explorer Post, 2085, won top honos last week at the annual Deep Freeze camp-out at Camp Slater.  Explorers attending the Deep Freeze were David Bollinger, Dennis Whitesell, Denver Watson, John Bechtold, Roger Kinney, Bill Aburn, Dan Smith, John Lancaster, Steve Karst, Val Duggins, Nolan Hartzler, Bill Leffel, Rick Norris and Barry Matson.  Their leaders were Charles Carroll, Harold Robinette, James Anderson, Dick Wood and Morris Darley.

65 years ago
from the Tribune-News
Thursday, January 24, 1946
The Rev. J Ulman Miller, former pastor of the South Whitley Baptist Church, accepted a call to the pastorate of the First Baptist Church at Bluffton and will begin his duties there February 1.  Miller recently returned from the Army as a chaplain and served with the Fifth Army Air Force in the far east.
As far as records can be found, the South Whitley Bulldogs has not won 12 games in any one season before this year.  South Whitley won their 12th game this week against the Larwill Trojans.
Among the seven young men who left Whitley County Wednesday for induction into the military were William F. Juif of South Whitley; Sherman Lee Kreider and Max F. Miller, both of Columbia City.

No comments:

Post a Comment